top of page

Featured Cosplayer - That Bloody Pirate


1. How did you guys come up with your cosplay name?

I'm a big fan of swashbuckling movies. I originally came up with ThatBloodyPirate as a screen

name and for my dA page. When I started getting into cosplay, I kept on the name.

2. How did you get started in cosplay?

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away I was looking up ways to make my Halloween costume

that year. I kept coming up with cosplay related pages in my search, and as I continued, I

started reading up on conventions. It turned out that one was held a couple of miles away from

my old apartment. I tried getting my costume done by then (it was partly done and I ended up

wearing it regardless of how bad it looked), and I got a couple of friends interested in going with

me.

3. What is your favorite part of the process?

I have a couple of favorite parts actually. The whole researching and planning thing is one. I

enjoy plotting out ways to approach tough parts of the costume. I also really like once I have

the mock up done (I hate mock ups) and am working on the actual costume. Nothing is better

than when the costume is starting to come together correctly and is finally looking like

something.

4. What is your favorite costume to date?

Ooo, a tough one. Hoth Princess Leia for sure, but I also really like Link, Saber, and Sailor

Mars.

5. What is your dream cosplay?

Leia’s Cloud City outfit. I actually started it a couple of years ago, but I got intimidated by all the

embroidery involved, and so I’ve been putting it off since then. It’s my intention to finish it this

year though.

6. Where do you see yourself in the future when it comes to cosplay?

I plan on cosplaying as a little old lady someday.

7. What's your favorite material to work with­ satin, craft foam, suiting, etc?

I’m not sure actually. I like to use bridal satin, dupioni silk, sateen cotton, etc for a lot of my

projects. I pretty much like using any good quality fabric for the most part. I also enjoy playing

around with resin and apoxie sculpt for my props and accessories. Seriously, apoxie sculpt is

the best.

8. If you could pick a single superpower what would it be?

I guess shapeshifting? Yeah, that'd be pretty sweet.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Check out more from That Bloody Pirate Cosplay on her Facebook and LIKE X-geek on facebook for more cosplay-related features!

Tags:

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page