top of page

Featured Cosplayer - Nykil


1. How did you guys come up with your cosplay name?

I've been using Nykil on the internet since around 2003, so it made sense for it to be my cosplay name. I just liked the way it looked visually because it can be written using only straight lines (and because its short but unique enough that I could use it basically everywhere.) That also means there's no correct was to pronounce so maybe I didn't think that out...

2. How did you get started in cosplay?

I've loved costumes since I was little, and always had a new/modified homemade every single Halloween. As I got older I realized I could dress up like video game characters and sort of stumbled my way into cosplay as I learned to make stuff for myself.

3.What is your favorite part of the process?

I like that moment when you've planned out how everything is going to fit together and you can look in the mirror and actually see it starting to work. It really gives me the drive to finish everything up so I can show it off.

4. What is your favorite costume to date?

Probably Muzét from Tales of Xillia 2. It took a lot of experimenting and new materials for me and somehow

worked out pretty well. I also get to meet a lot of really cool people while I was wearing it, which makes me love it more.

5. What is your dream cosplay?

Oh boy, this takes a little explaining. In Disney's Alice in Wonderland (the 1951 animated film, specifically) there is a song the flowers sing, All in the Golden Afternoon. A white rose sings a solo in it, she has maybe 15 seconds of screen time total the entire movie. I have loved her my entire life and I want to be her so bad...

6. Where do you see yourself in the future when it comes to cosplay?

Hmmmm this is a hard one. I really like working on and interpreting elaborate versions of costumes, so I hope to be doing more of that I guess. Making weirder, more unique costumes that are really fun to see in person.

7. What's your favorite material to work with­ satin, craft foam, suiting, etc?

This is probably boring, but Worbla. I like experimenting with different plastics, but it may be the most versatile and easy to work with. It has become my failsafe when I can't get something else to work. Also it transports pretty well (even though it is bulky), and lasts a really long time.

8. If you could pick a single superpower what would it be?

Teleportation hands down. Travel logistics are the bane of my existence, so if I could just teleport places I could have all the fun of travelling with the hassle. Sleeping in your own bed every night no matter what, not having to pack or arrange transportation... it would be amazing.

 

Check out Nikil on Facebook! and LIKE X-geek on facebook for more cosplay-related features!

Tags:

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
Recent Posts
bottom of page